Sign in to follow this  

Exhaust, sharp engine noise.

Ok, Im new with mx-bikes. I bought my first this winter, KTM SX-F 250 ´07. I was doing training on saturday and engine runned ok. Starts ok, works good in every way. But engine noise during ignition cycle got a bit sharper. When I warmed up the engine after washing today to listen it again. I found that engine noise sounded sharper on the right side of the engine than on the left. Could be also my bad ears.. :thumbsup: And I found out that exhaust pipe is moving a bit from the root against engine. Should it be fixed stable or allowed to move a bit? I am not actualy sure that has the pipe fractured when I rode or is it "normal". Before mx-bikes I have been in speedway racing and we always sealed the exhaust end from the engine with silicone. I see nothing like that on this engine. Should I try this?

Problem found.. hole in the header pipe. It was patched up with a pieace from a soda can. I think I have to call to the firm where I bought my bike.. and have a serious talk.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg233/Blitzcod/KTMputki2.jpg

Why on earth would a bike saler do that. Before I bought the bike, there was pics without the shield for the header. So.. they have knew that the hole is there. I contacted them and let us see what happens. Bike has Akra titanium high rpm exhaust. Engine is more like 125cc 2stroke with little more torque than twosmoker. I liked it on the track.

Was it on consignment? be interesting to see what happens. Good luck.

Ofcourse they denied that they have put that aluminium there. And said that they had bought a welding machine just last year to fix these. But in the same time.. accused me that I have have crashed the bike and tried to repeair the header myself. But I think everything is going to be well after all. They offered to weld the pipe if I just send it back to them. Let see how this goes..