High Octane

Since I bought my bike (2005 RM250) I have noticed some pinging. It had some head work and a 265 kit put in by Eric Gorr. Eric said that it will be fine to run on pump gas, so i've be using 91 octane with no ethenal. like i said, though, the bike has been pinging.

So today for a Hare scramble i rode in i used some octane booster and the bike rand great (besides getting a little extra oil on the rear fender, but that has more to do with me lugging the bike than with the jetting i think)

anyway, i am wondering what octane gas people are using or what people recommend to get the best results. I know there are a few places around here that sell race gas, but i have no experience with it and would like some direction.

If booster worked then the most you'd need is 100.

Mix 100 octane and your 91 octane 50/50, and you will be good. What ratio premix are you running?

Mix 100 octane and your 91 octane 50/50, and you will be good. What ratio premix are you running?

I'm running 32:1

So when you mix 100 octane and 91 octane at a 1:1 ratio, does that leave you with 95.5 octane? or does it not work that way?

Mite try and raise your main jet one step to get rid of your ping (its detonation).

1 gal of 100 + 1 gal of 91 should be your 95.5. The kicker is how good or how old the pump gas is.

Edited by Padgett
Mite try and raise your main jet one step to get rid of your ping (its detonation).

1 gal of 100 + 1 gal of 91 should be your 95.5. The kicker is how good or how old the pump gas is.

The 91 octane I get is ethenol free premium at the local Cenex gas station.

so going one bigger on the main might fix this?

and it is looking like the only place to get high octane fuel around me is the airport. will that gas work or is airplane gas different?