Sign in to follow this  

98 XR400 Suspension

Just got back from a 3 day ride in PA. Last day I got a flat on the front tire. Thinking about doing some mods to forks while yanking front wheel to fix flat. I'm 220 lbs of twisted steel and sex-a-peel.....and 5'10"......LOL Been riding bike for 10 yrs with stock suspension. All I did was adj the spanner nut on rear shock to help with sag. played with dampening adj on front forks. I know this sounds like a cave man way to ride to most of you, but what can I say.... Just want to do basic upgrade.?? Something I can do myself. I've been a mechanic all my life, and at 45 it's starting to feel like too long.

Any input you guy's can give me is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tony

Just got back from a 3 day ride in PA. Last day I got a flat on the front tire. Thinking about doing some mods to forks while yanking front wheel to fix flat. I'm 220 lbs of twisted steel and sex-a-peel.....and 5'10"......LOL Been riding bike for 10 yrs with stock suspension. All I did was adj the spanner nut on rear shock to help with sag. played with dampening adj on front forks. I know this sounds like a cave man way to ride to most of you, but what can I say.... Just want to do basic upgrade.?? Something I can do myself. I've been a mechanic all my life, and at 45 it's starting to feel like too long.

Any input you guy's can give me is greatly appreciated.

The best mod I ever did to my '98 XR4 was installing a Gold Valve kit in the forks. I set the bike up with a medium soft mid-speed stack and extremely soft high-speed stack. I can turn in the comp clickers and land a jump, but the forks will swallow a boulder like it was never there (I still wince in expectation though). You know that shoulder jarring *crack* and deflection you get when you smack an 8" rock? All gone.