New to the forum

Just wanted to say whazzup. Just got myself a 96 CR250 and I've always been a part of forums for help, so thought I would give this one a try. Normally I'm on the big truck forums but since I'm new to owning a bike here I am.

Pic of the bike

IMAG0084.jpg

Welcome and congrats on bike. Braaap!

Nice bike I hope the bike is not leaking oil under that pan lol. Also welcome to the fourm/website.

Nice bike I hope the bike is not leaking oil under that pan lol. Also welcome to the fourm/website.

Lol nope not leaking. Just happened to be where the oil catch was when i took the pic. Lol..

So like I mentioned I'm new to owning a bike. What are the most important things I should do to keep this bike healthy, that I can do on my own as a beginner?

Are you a very good mechanic?

Are you a very good mechanic?

Ive worked on trucks mostly but nothing major. I can change my own oil, change an alternator, relatively simple stuff. So I know how to work a wrench a little. lol.

Get yourself a 96 CR 250 Service Manual. 2 strokes are pretty easy to work on. Enjoy and welcome.

i'd put a new piston in the bike myself. always do that when buying a used smoker. other than that change the trans oil regularly and keep the air filter clean. have fun.

braaaaaaaaaaaaap!

i'd put a new piston in the bike myself. always do that when buying a used smoker. other than that change the trans oil regularly and keep the air filter clean. have fun.

braaaaaaaaaaaaap!

As far as the piston is that something that most people usually do themselves??

As far as the piston is that something that most people usually do themselves??

Yessir! For your first time (since you're already experienced with mechanic work) maybe TOPS 3hrs. :thumbsup:

Welcome to the forums, sick bike!

like aligee said. do it yourself. pick up a clymer shop manual for your bike and set aside a few hours.