Sign in to follow this  

New to owning a bike

So I FINALLY got myself a bike. Ended up getting a 96 CR250 in pretty good shape for a really good price. I'm new to owning a bike, especially a 2-stroke cause I know nothing about them. So I was wondering what things I can do (myself without a shop) to keep it in tip top shape for as long as possible. I work on my truck off and on so I have a basic knowledge of engines, its just the 2-stroke thing that wigs me out. lol

2 strokes are easier. For specific engine stuff, tear apart the top end and inspect the piston and rings. Also, change the gear oil every so often. Some small things too, like make sure you give your bike a shake before riding so it mixes the fuel in the tank since the oil sinks to the bottom.

tons of info on this site, often will save you time to do a "search".. tips for searching is don't be too specific with how you word the search, and try different word combos to generate more threads that match what your looking for.

buy a manual.. learning to do some work yourself as you know working on your truck, will save you lots of money. 2t is easier to work on than a 4t so you have that going for you.

I would be scared to tear into it. lol. Ill def do that shake thing though. Good to know thank You.. I always see that people do new top and bottom's with the 2 strokes. This bike I have I dont think has ever had that done. When or how can I tell if I should get that done. Or should I should just go with "IF IT AINT BROKE DONT FIX IT" rule?

tons of info on this site, often will save you time to do a "search".. tips for searching is don't be too specific with how you word the search, and try different word combos to generate more threads that match what your looking for.

buy a manual.. learning to do some work yourself as you know working on your truck, will save you lots of money. 2t is easier to work on than a 4t so you have that going for you.