Sign in to follow this  

ledge/drop off technique

been riding a trail recently that has several 3' to 4' drops. I'm very new to two wheelers so i avoided the larger ones the first time out and this last time i felt confident enough to try them all. On the first bigger one i gave it a little more throttle, not much, and when i landed it was rear wheel first and front end really high. hit the rest of them and varied throttle input with the same effect every time. I'm afraid if i just keep constant throttle i will endo. Also, some of these you come up on at low speed, but the larger one i mentioned i'm up in third gear on my yz250 so i am moving along pretty good. what am i doing wrong?

Practice on an easy drop off by giving the bike just enough throttle to clear the skid plate over the edge of the ledge. (You must be standing on the pegs with your weight back a little bit.) As the rear wheel rolls off the edge pull up on the handle bars to put the bike at the angle you want. Practice various amount of throttle until you get it the way you want it. :thumbsup:

For a drop at speed (3rd gear) you almost have to do nothing. Just a slight rearward body position and steady throttle will keep the bike flat and you won't have a hard landing at all. the sower you go, the more you need to lean back, pull on bars, and blip the throttle on take off.

Keep constant throttle and lean back, and if you land with the throttle on it will lighten the impact, Having the throttle on keeps the bike moving forward instead of down (into the ground).

For me, I prefer landing with the front tire first and the gas on... so I prefer a little endo.

For me, I prefer landing with the front tire first and the gas on... so I prefer a little endo.

X2 :thumbsup:

Keep constant throttle and lean back, and if you land with the throttle on it will lighten the impact, Having the throttle on keeps the bike moving forward instead of down (into the ground).