09 piston hours?

I have had a couple different opinions on when to install new piston on my 09 450. I am a + 40 expert level rider,some say don't go over 40 hrs some say 60 hrs is more than adeqate. I would like to get feedback from other riders on when you changed out your piston and how it looked. btw- I have 45 hrs on my bike. Fresh air filter every ride,never more than 3 hrs on oil change using honda w/moly in engine side.

Thanks in advance Ernie:thumbsup:

It should go at least 100 hours unless you spend a lot of time on the rev limiter. I'm also a +40 Expert mx'er and was able to get 200 hours out of the piston in my '04. My '08 is pushing 100 hours and the valve cover has never been off.

i have used the same maintence schedule as you. changed my piston @ 110 hrs and it looked pretty much brand new. valves were perfect. installed a pro x piston and now have 180hrs. this is on an 08 by the way. always a clean airfilter and fresh oil.

I had 120 on mine and it was worn completely out. There is another thread where Ron Hamp describes what happends when the piston is run too long.

Pretty ugly pics too.

My piston at 120 hours was showing the rounding that RH was talking about.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=979489

I put 102 hours on the piston in my 2009 and it looked fine when I tore it apart to do a top end. Everything looked good with the valves except that the coating on one of the intake valves was starting to wear off. I race MX in the 40+B class.

BTW, I was riding moto with pro flat tracker, Willie McCoy, a few of weeks ago. He has an 08 CRF450 with what looks like A LOT of hours on it and he's never had the valve cover off. Willie has a tendency to over-rev his bike so it's a real testament to how much punishment a stock CRF450 can take.