Rim Lacing Question

So I sent my suspension off to Factory Connection, and thought while I had the wheels off I would lace up some black rims :thumbsup:

I have never done this before, and I might have made a mistake. I ordered just the rims, thinking I could reuse my spokes. The bike is a 2010 with about 6 hours on it, so I was thinking they should still work. By the way the new rims are Moose rims. Was this a mistake? This is going to be my first wheel lace-up so it should be interesting. Also, do I need a spoke torque wrench? I only have a normal spoke wrench.

Thanks.

I don't know anything about the Moose rims. If they are "Stock replacements", the stock spokes should work. If it was me, I would upgrade spokes to Stainless Steel. You don't NEED a torque wrench, but it makes the job a little easier. Have fun. It's not rocket science, just require patience.

Moose rims are designed to work with the stock spokes.

you don't need a torque wrench but just take your time and pay attention. I have laced up 4 sets without a torque wrench and only a homemade truing stand.

Pay attention to the length of the spokes that come out of the hubs some may be longer than others depending on what side of the hub and if they are on the inside and outside.

Make sure you get your "run out" done first.. make sure that the hub is centered on the rim before going for truing left and right.

If you have not disassembled your stock wheels, put a straight edge across the disc rotor to the edge of the rim, measure from edge of rim to straight edge. Make sure you get back to this measurment with your new wheel. BTW, I personally prefer the stock spokes to aftermarket, prefer the stock rims as well, but I think the Moose ones are OK.

I haven't taken the old wheel apart yet, was planning on doing it tonight. Thanks for the heads up Jeffro.:thumbsup:

That's good to hear on the torque wrench. They are spendy little specialty tools.