titanium valves?, 03 crf450r

i just recently bought an 03 crf450r and it was in great condition. the guy said he had a mechanic put new titanium valves in it. i know this sounds good and all but how good are these? do they last long? durable? i am not good with 4 stroke engines yet but i need some ones opinion on these thanks a billion

Faxon:thumbsup:

Titanium valves , at least in the early CRF450s are not known to be all the durable. Sometimes they last forever, sometimes they don't. Just remember to keep your air-filter clean.

TI intake valves are stock on the 450R's. They are lighter than steel which allows the motor to rev up quicker. The TI valves aren't the problem on the earlier(pre 06) models, the valve seat material was the problem. If the seats were changed when the valves were done, it shouldn't be a problem. Like stated above, KEEP THE AIR FILTER CLEAN!

I've never had a problem with OEM Ti valves. How you clean your filter is much much important than how often you clean the filter.

so wats the best way to clean an air filter? with out buying a new one? and if i do get a new one do i oil it up with no toil oil? i did that on my 2 stroke but i dont know if it will mess up a 4 stroke or anything. thanks a billion

Faxon

I used to have an 03,, it seemed the valves lasted forever. I had it for 4 years, rode it about 2-3 times a month at a the mx track. Sold it in 08. The thing still started 1-2 kicks. That bike was solid. It's the luck of the draw I guess..Good oil, clean air filter and stay off the rev limiter. Four strokes like to be lugged, not strangled like a 2 smoke.

so wats the best way to clean an air filter? with out buying a new one? and if i do get a new one do i oil it up with no toil oil? i did that on my 2 stroke but i dont know if it will mess up a 4 stroke or anything. thanks a billion

Faxon