Sign in to follow this  

California Looking for Black Dirt forest with streams and single track

Hey guys.

Hoping someone could steer me in the right direction. I have been riding southern cal for about 6-7 years and i am kind of burnt out on all the desert scape riding. I want to go ride in a wet, damp forest with trees, streams, black rich dirt. Is it even possible in California? and if so where?

I have described my vision of where id like to ride as the Ewok forest from starwars which was filmed in the Redwood national forest. But i dont think there is any riding in that area that is legal.

Please provide your input here. Thanks.

2008 450 KXF

:thumbsup:

Nor Cal is fun but you need a license plate for most of it if not all-unlike the Dez. Also, it's all dust up there in the summer. Generally, the offroad thing is far different up there and get on AdvRider.com to get into that crowd. Be forewarned that they ride a lot bigger bikes up there. An XR650R is considered a pig down here but an entry level scoot up there.

Eastern Oregon is fantastic but it's two day drive before you start riding and the forest riding there is no better than Tahoe but twice as far.

There's some good riding at Big Bear-not epic but fun. Plenty of forest in Baja and occasional snow too.

The central coast of Cali has lots of wet and trees and water and all that.

There's plenty of riding in the Sierra as well-more than you could do in the next 20 years and the days often end with fly fishing for your dinner.

There are riding groups all over the place so start looking around.

If you were a real So Cal guy you'd have a boat for the summer at the River.

If you are headed to Nor Cal you can't do better than riding with Troy, a transplanted So Cal guy who runs the following group and a couple of others. Just an outstanding guy. www norcaldualsport dot com

Get on the Yahoo group lists for that area as well.