Sign in to follow this  

California Colsun Canyon Open?

If you mean Colson Canyon in Santa Barbara county, no it is not open. I have been checking in with the forest service for the last 2 years and keep getting a similar response of "2 more months" or "the road is washed out." They keep posting new notices on the sign at Tepesquet rd with new "scheduled to be opened" dates and then nothing happens. Instead of cutting the "washed out" road, they spent their budget on yet another new gate that is closer to the paved road and more signage saying "closed." The current sign says May 1st, but it is still not open. Even if it were open, you must be street legal until you reach the bottom of Rattlesnake canyon, and the area does have red sticker closures. Rockfront Ranch on hwy 166 reopened this past Saturday and is right around the corner and IS open to red sticker.

Like was said it's best to call and ask before heading there. The Motor Vehicle Use Maps (MVUM) are here http://www.fs.usda.gov/wps/portal/fsinternet/!ut/p/c4/04_SB8K8xLLM9MSSzPy8xBz9CP0os3gDfxMDT8MwRydLA1cj72DTUE8TAwjQL8h2VAQAMtzFUw!!/?ss=110507&navtype=BROWSEBYSUBJECT&cid=FSM9_034094&navid=360000000000000&position=Feature*&ttype=detailfull&pname=Los%20Padres%20National%20Forest-%20Maps%20&%20Publications

There are no open areas at all there. It's just the trials and the few dirt roads that are open to OHV. With the travel management plans the zones for play riding are pretty muck confined to a few open areas in the desert and a very small number of forest spots. It's almost all trails only now.