Sign in to follow this  

First Trials Bike - Sherco 2.9?

Hello All,

I am new to trials but not new to bikes, I have ridden an 05 gas gas 250 once in a parking lot for about 3 minutes (it was awesome). I have just sold my nicest sport bike (02 red/black CBR 600 F4i) so that I can get into trials. I got $3500 for my CBR and spent $500 on a crappy dodge cargo van (to carry the trials bike and XR250r I have). The only dealer (that I know of) in Victoria BC (where I live) is Gas Gas Pacific. I am 6ft about 195lbs and 28yrs old.

So I have about $3000 for the trials bike and I think I will be buying the sherco 2.9 below (will be looking at it tomorrow). Opinions? Things to watch for (besides sticky clutch, I know about that) on a '04 Sherco 290?

PS> Canadian prices are usually higher than U.S so the bikes aren't as badly priced as they may appear.

$2999 - 2004 sherco 290 trials

bought new bike,very good condition, good engine and trans, regular servicing with synthetics call for more details

Other options:

2005 GG 300

Seller has dropped price to $3500 but is still a bit pricey for me to justify.

http://nanaimo.en.craigslist.ca/mcy/2353774508.html

$3700 - 2006 SCORPA 250CC

also too much money for me to spend and there are not many Sorpas around (not that I really know as I have only been to one local event, but saw zero scorpa's there)

http://www.usedvictoria.com/classified-ad/2006-SCORPA-250CC-TRIALS-BIKE_14488562

Other bikes within 4 hours of Victoria BC? Can only find bikes above or older TYs for ~$1200

Not a single reply to my question???? what is up? The XR forum on TT is super friendly to the newbies... is this a more private forum for people who already know each other? If so can you recommend another trials forum for Newbies?

I ended up buying the 2004 sherco 290. So far it is fun, but I won't bother with pictures, etc.unless someone cares to respond.