Sign in to follow this  

Let's design the ideal suspension

Over the past year, I've learned quite a bit form TT and Race Tech's Suspension Bible about how our suspensions work. In that time, I've revalved a number of bikes for my son and I to set them up for hare scrambles.

I can't help but to think there's a better design out there than what we have to work with now. BTW, I'm a mechanical engineer and I design machinery for a living.

It seems like the current state of the art still involves too many variables that overlap in their effect (for example mid and base valve).

It's also a pain in the neck that you have to completely disassemble things to make any meaningful changes.

These are the idease that are bouncing around in my head:

In my design, the piston would be connected to the wheel like in current dual chamber forks in order to keep the unsprung mass low. We don't want to move the dead weight of the oil up and down.

How about using a double rod cylinder. There would be a rod coming out each end of the piston and out of each end of the chamber (cylinder). The advantage to this is that you can get away from cavitation problems since the oil simply moves from one side of the piston to the other and none of it has to leave the chamber. This would allow you to do all valving on the piston or what is now called the mid valve. The disadvantage is that the assembly has to be three times the length of the travel. We may have room in the forks, but probably not in the rear shock unless something else changed.