Sign in to follow this  

drz SKID PLATE??

I've been using the plastic skid plate for seven years now and it's been perfect. Plus, it actually makes the bike quieter, quite a feat for a DRZ. I can't remember the name of the manufacturer, but you should be able to find it by searching on Thumpertalk.

awesome response thanks guys!...C F amplified noise ?????? how?

I have had the TT one and the MSR racing one and the Tonn's Racing one and the CRD one. Best looking and fit and easiest to mount- CRD (not made anymore but a really nice fitted plate), most burly - Tonn's Racing and easy to mount and very durabble, The TT and MS Racing used frame clamps which were a real pain. Unless they have changed from that method I would not buy them. They are durable but clamps suck. Pictures below. The plastic bag on each is just the mounting bolts.

CRD - CRDSkidPlate1.jpg

CRDSkidPlate2.jpg

Tonn's Racing - TonnsRacingSkidPlate1.jpg

TonnsRacingSkidPlate2.jpg

Edited by pschiess
Correction

Tonns is the best one currently made. Bomb proof design, you break that skid plate and you have far worse problems to deal with. The tonns pictured above must be an earlier generation, the one I own is more robust looking and simpler in design.

I just hate that Tonn's doesn't have a web store or anything like that. It really keeps me from ordering one.

• Like 1

I just hate that Tonn's doesn't have a web store or anything like that. It really keeps me from ordering one.

Sure they do - http://www.tonnsfabrication.com/index.html

I am selling my Tonn's racing plate as I am not using the DRZ for off-road anymore. It is the most rugged plate i have ever seen but best is Mike Tonn guarantees the plates. Good guys to work with. :thumbsup:

Check these guys out. http://www.utahsportcycle.com/store/page165.html