Recommend a good street legal DS for commuting

Hey guys,

I'm new here and I'm new to riding as well. I'm 19, living in British Columbia, going to university, and with insane insurance/gas prices I've started looking for alternative methods of transportation.

I've been researching a little bit and it seems as though a dual sport bike is what I would be looking for (mostly because I will be riding throughout the winter too given that there's no snow/ice on the roads). What I really want is a Ninja 250R but that's just not going to cut it for the winter. Anyways, I'm guessing my ratio would be somewhere around 80% road to 20% dirt. I'm 6 feet tall and weigh in around 150lbs. Like I said, this will be my first bike and I'm new to riding.

Given my circumstances, what bike would you recommend to me? Or would you recommend a DS at all? I've been looking at the DR-Z400S mostly but I feel like this might be a little too powerful? Maybe I should just get an old 93-94 XR250L but I don't want to spend all my money on repairs...

Bleh, I can't decide... help!

Yamaha wr250r

Kawasaki makes a KLX250S. It is a bit more modern than a XR250L. Used ones are around.

For 80% street I would buy a street bike. For the 20% dirt buy a two stroke 125. A street bike needs a big motor with tall gearing. If you insist on a Dual Sport buy a Honda 650L, or Kawasaki KLX 650.

Hmm, I thought the WR250R was supposed to be more for dirt. I would definitely consider it if my ratio was the other way around but I'm planning to be mostly on the road and I'm going to be on the highway as well.

MMotohead I'm going to look further into the XR650L... looks like a nice bike but I'm worried it might be too big.

Thanks for all the replies!