Sign in to follow this  

450exc 06 front suspension

hi,

this is about the front forks for this^^ KTM,

been reading a little on it through the net and seems KTM front suspension is not that great even till 2010 models,

i'm not a mechanic though can figure out some of the basics,

the bike itself handles pretty much awfully, at around 80Kph hitting a rock or a sharp ditch, bump you'r hands pretty heavily which makes riding at these speeds on the edge of dangerous makes you a bit neurotic, and takes the pleasure out of it,

the bike handles rocks at climbs and downhills pretty bad, not that bad, but definitely not good enough to allow you to push it far, riding isn't smooth and the front wheel sometimes bumps from side to side over them or at bumps.

is there anyway to fix it?

it's not about the oil, they just been fixed,

thanks.

that fork is the hardest to get to work nice , what do you weigh ? as you maybe needing different springs ? do you use the entire stroke ?

hi,

i weight around 158Lb or 72-75 Kg, so the springs should be fine,

as for the stroke, it never uses it all, i haven't started to jump too high yet though that shouldn't be the problem from my understanding, it's the "routine" work of the fork that isn't good enough,

hitting sudden rocks actually at any speed gives an hefty bump to the handlebars/you'r hands,

it's more felt at high speeds when even hitting a sharp ditch, seems it can't handle it right,

it's also on the casual work like at a bumpy terrain, it simply won't work like a fork is supposed to work dumping the track for the driver, at least, it doesn't do it well enough,

it sometimes throws the wheel from one side to the other, what makes you feel, you lose control of the bike, you simply can't communicate with it as it behaves not normally,

i've took a DRZ400 from a friend rider once and the difference is overwhelming,

you simply don't feel the terrain, the forks handle it and deliver a smooth ride for the rider.