YZ250 Starting issues and questions - Am i doing this right...

Yes, I'm a newbie. I bought this bike 2 years ago from a friend for $1500 havent rode it much and worked on it zero time.

https://picasaweb.google.com/AcidQue/DirtBikeStuff?feat=directlink

So I made a bad mistake, I let gas sit in it for about 8 months in my shed...:thumbsup:

I need some help on getting this back into running condition. I Removed the carb and soaked it in chem dip for an hour. I removed the floats and any gaskets I could get to and the choke push/pull before the soak. After the hour soak I blew out all the holes I could see with high pressure compressor and cleaned any remaining chem dip from the carb. I put it back together and confirmed that I could see gas coming from the small hole in the center of the carb when I held the throttle open and the choke open.

It started on the second kick and ran for 5 seconds and now I can kick and kick and nothing.

Whats my next step in getting this back in running order?

Also is $1500 a good buy for this bike or did I get taken?

From the picture can you tell what year this bike is?

If I have to order a carb rebuild kit what model carb is this?

Is 32/1 ratio with 93 octane the correct gas mix for this?

Hello there

How old is that bike? Anyway if the bike ran for 5 minutes it looks like you don't get fuel to the carb or only a little. How long you have to wait to start again or doe it not start at all?

Regards

Arnego2

Edited by arnego2

If it sits too long, you can get old, gooped up gas in the petcock area. You'll need to clean up from the tank on down. You've likely just sucked up some more poop into your pilot jet from the bad stuff already stuck in the system. Thoroughly clean it all out.

I can start it and it runs for about 20-30 seconds now after cleaning it out again. Then after that 20-30 second run I cant get it to start. My guess is that I need to take the carb apart again and blow out the holes?