Sign in to follow this  

Beginning racer mods!

Hey guys! i have a 2004 CRF250R, and id like to start racing at some local tracks. I have some track experience, ive gone to some practices. Im getting my AMA membership this weekend. Im looking for some advice on mods to my bike. Im not looking to put a TON of money into my bike, but yet, i dont mind some if its going to make my bike easier to control/faster. I know i could use a new exhaust, im a trail rider, so i have a white brothers E2, so it has the spark arrestor and everything, what kind of suggestions are there for exhaust? Also, steering stabilizer? Is it worth the money? What is a good aftermarket stabilizer? How about PowerNow intake fins? Give me anything you guys can think of that is very well needed. Holeshot device? Thanks guys!

put the stock exhaust on.....dont buy an aftermarket exhaust since you are just starting and im sure you cant ride the bike 100% of what it is capatable of doing....in stead invest in some comfortable grips. good levers make sure your clutch cable is in good working order and not rough...make sure you have good tires. and if you have to spend money on parts spend money on getting your suspession setup for your weight....hole shot device's arent that great.....i pull hole shots with out one...hell i pulled two hole shot back to back last weekend and 3-4 other guys had the device and i blasted them off the line....

So with that being said. ride the bike and dont waiste big money untill you can dominate on the bike you have now.