Sign in to follow this  

Xt 500 to 12v ?

Hi,

My name is Ben I am 15 years old and I have been building a 1977 xt 500 into a street tracker for about six months now. I need to know what I have to to get my 6v system updated to a 12v and I also need to know if I can do it without re-wiring my stator. The only reasond I am doing this is because I was told if i dont Re-wire my bike I can't run the blinkers and taillight:banghead: I bought because they use 12v bulbs and I can't seem to find the same bulb in 6v. And yes I have tried looking for them very hard since I work at a motorcycle shop

Thanks

Ben

• Rewind the stator. a good shop can split a winding to give you 6v and 12v output so you don't need to change the battery and starter and regulator and...
  • Find 6v bulbs (are you talking about LEDs and 12v control circuits for them?)
  • use a rechargeable 12v battery for the blinkers and taillight.
  • Buy/build a voltage doubler for the accessories: http://www.aaroncake.net/Circuits/6-12conv.asp
  • Since the stator is 6v AC, you can build an AC voltage doubler with a couple of diodes and capacitors to run the lights: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voltage_doubler
    Use the Greinacher or bridge circuit. You can leave the existing connections alone and just wire the double in parallel with the charging output from the stator. Then feed the accessories with the 12v from the stator. You can put a 12v regulator on the output of the doubler if you need to.

Or rewind the stator if you can't find the bulbs... (yes, that was a hint)

The weird thing is that my system will run the lights and blinkers the blinkers just don't blink and both the blinkers and taillight have 12v bulbs in them. But I was told that the blinkers are not blinking because they have 12v bulbs in them but what I don't understand is that why do they turn on but don't blink

Thanks the help is greatly appreciated

Ben