Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Willie Browning - Geico MiniMotoSX (spoiler)

Recommended Posts

Willie Browning Dominates GEICO MiniMotoSX

First rider ever to win all three Expert Finals in one night!

Las Vegas, NV. (May 6, 2011) – For the past seven years, Willie Browning has been one of the favorites to win the GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX but something always prevented him from winning even one main event. But tonight, at the South Point Arena in Las Vegas, Browning dominated all three expert main events on his CHP mini bikes. He started by taking the 10 Inch Expert class victory over BBR’s Ryan Abrigo and Braaap USA’s Michael Blose. He later came back to win the 12 Inch Expert class over Derek Costella and Kyle Partridge and then took his third main even win of the night in the World Final, which takes the top three finishers in all of the premier classes. The improbable trifecta win earned Browning $9,000 for a night of mini

bike racing!

The 2011 GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX, presented by Monster Energy and Braaap USA had 15 separate AMA number one plates on the line for Expert, Amateur, Vet and Youth classes. For the Experts, there was $18,000 in purse money on the line so you know that is going to lead to some intense racing.

Matthew Skerrett beat fellow Austrialian Mike Reefman in the 35+ Vet class. Tatum Sik took the lead from defending women’s champion Erika Short and never looked back to win her first MMSX over Jackie Ives and Katie Cyr. Zac Hays won the Vintage main over Shea Koester and Robert Rexrode.

Drake Williams won the 12 Inch Amateur class over Tomokuni Osada and Matthew Skerrett. Hiroshi Nakayama made the trip from Japan pay off with a victory in the 10 Inch Amateur class over Robert Rexrode and Kevin Papaeko.

10 Inch Stock/Mod was won by Clint Johnson over Duane Brown (one of the BBR brothers) and Joshua Sheffer. Tiger Lacey defended his title in the 12 Inch Stock/Mod class over Michael Horban and Drew Petrie.

The 12 Inch Youth class was won by Daniel Maynet over Kyle Davis and Dillon Drummen. Killian Woder won the 10 Inch Youth class over Dillion Drummen and Tyler Walker. Carson Brown dominated the 12 Inch Youth 9-13 year old class to make up for giving away the lead on the last lap at last year’s event. Robbie Wageman, the defending Champion finished second ahead of Zachary Bierbower.

In the Gas Versus Electric battle, the Gas bikes were given a head-start, which proved insurmountable and Shawn Rhinehart won on a Honda CRF150. Jamie Lanza was closing fast on his Zero when he was involved in a big crash trying to get into second overall. Jay Maloney was the second gas powered bike across the line followed by Blake Mitchell. Blake Mitchell was the first Electric bike across the line followed by fellow Zero pilots Chris Green and Jamie Lanza.

Results: 2011 GEICO MiniMotoSX, presented by Monster Energy and Braap USA

World Final

1: Willy Browning

2: Ryan Abrigo

3: Michael Blose

12 Inch Expert

1: Willy Browning

2: Derek Costella

3: Kyle Partridge

10 Inch Expert

1: Willie Browning

2: Ryan Abrigo

3: Michael Blose

+35 Vet class

1: Matthew Skerrett

2: Mike Reefman

3: Brent Bisbee

Women’s class

1: Tatum Sik

2: Jackie Ives

3: Katie Cyr

Vintage class

1: Zac Hays

2: Shea Koester

3: Robert Rexrode

12 Inch Amateur

1: Drake Williams

2: Tomokuni Osada

3: Matthew Skerrett

10 Inch Amateur

1: Hiroshi Nakayama

2: Robert Rexrode

3: Kevin Papaeko

10 Inch Stock/Mod

1: Clint Johnson

2: Duane Brown

3: Joshua Sheffer

12 Inch Stock/Mod

1: Tiger Lacey

2: Michael Horban

3: Drew Petrie

16 Amateur

1: Shawn Rhinehart

2: Jay Maloney

3: Blake Mitchell

Electric Bikes

1: Blake Mitchell

2: Chris Green

3: Jamie Lanza

12 Inch Youth 13-17

1: Daniel Meynet

2: Kyle Davis

3: Dillon Drummen

10 Inch Youth 13-17

1: Killian Woder

2: Dillon Drummen

3: Tyler Walker

12 Inch Youth Stock 9-13

1: Carson Brown

2: Robbie Wageman

3: Zachary Bierbower

Special Thanks to the 2011 MiniMotoSX sponsors:

GEICO, Monster Energy, Thor MX, Braaap USA, Kawasaki, Traxxas, BBR, Ride Now Powersports, CHP, TB Parts, Pitster Pro, SSR, Scott USA, 2-Up Mini’s, Zero, Brammo, US-Way, Acerbis, Planet Mini, All Access, Milestone MX Park, Thumpertalk, Leatt, Off Road Vixens.

For rules and race information visit www.minimotosx.com or email minimotosx@sorc.com

Source Interlink Media Motorsports:

Encompassing the highly successful GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX presented by Monster Energy and Braaap USA, the GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship Series presented by E3 Spark plugs and the AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships, the Source Interlink Media Motorsports brands reach millions of motorcycle enthusiasts with live events, web sites, television and magazine coverage. Visit www.minimotosx.com or www.endurocross.com

2011 MMSX Browning Drew Ruiz Photo.jpg

2011 MMSX World Final Podium Bian Jefferies.jpg

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

It was the first time since I have been keeping up with the minibike scene to actually get to watch the Las Vegas MinSX event.

It was great to see the event live. I hope this is something that gets even more coverage next year.

CONGRATULATIONS to all the riders for doing a great job and to the sponsors for bringing it to us.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Congrats to all, and a big congrats to Matthew "Boxy" Skerrett on his Pitster Pro Factory Racing Development prepped machine!!

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Reply with:

Sign in to follow this