38mm airstriker keihin carb on a 02 cr125

im just about ready to purchase this carb for my bike, but before i do i was wondering since its bigger than the stock carby if it bolts right up or would i have to change the air manifold and air boot as well? and also if any one is running one on their cr125 now, how do you like it? Any info would be great, thanks!?

I have no experience with this bike and don't even know how big the stock carb is, but I have put bigger carbs on a couple bikes before and have had luck boiling water and soaking the manifold for a bit to get it to fit over the bigger carb. Maybe give that a try?

yah hoping to gain some & i also heard its alot easier to dial in the jetting than the stock. ive read up on a few guys doing the switch and they love it... what im hearing frm alot of people is that this motor is air deprived frm the factory. So intake mods are a must... thats why im tryna find out if anyone knows frm experiance.

schrode thats what i dont want cause the cr125 has no bottom to begin with. but i was talking with jd jetting and they recommended the 38mm??

are they recommending the 38 because of ease of jetting or because it will yield the performance improvement that you wants. have you talked to anyone about modding your current carb?

i hear these guys do amazing things.

http://www.rb-designs.com/

The 125 is a quandary,and that's why JD recommends a 38mm....they don't make enough power down low, so you have to ride them high in the revs just to get them moving. That said, a CR125 don't really like a 36mm carb, but rather a 38-39mm will really wake them up in the high revs, which is the only place the throttle can be to get the bike moving.

When I had an '06 125sx and an '03 125sx, they both came stock w/ a 39mm PWK air striker carb. Back then, the '06 125sx was the most powerful 125 out there...they were puttlng out about 36 hp, STOCK.