Sign in to follow this  

TTR 125 LE suspension too stiff

Hi,

This is my first time here.

I bought my son a 2005 TTR 125 E, and I started riding it, and like it a lot. So, I bought myself a 2005 TTR 125 LE. The suspension is much stiffer than my son's bike. I do not ride hard, and there are a lot of washboard roads and rocky trailes where we live. I took the bike to a Yamaha dealer. He adjusted the forks all the way to as soft as they would go, and that helped, but I find the read is way to stiff for me. It's like wham wham wham over every bump in the road compared to my son's E. The shop is trying to find a softer spring but not having any luck yet. I see most everyone here is trying to make the suspension stiffer!

Any suggestions?

I'm 5'5" and weight 130#. The shop said the bike was geared toward what they consider the average rider, of 160#. Seems like a rather small bike for someone that size.

Dawn

cannon racecraft make custom springs if you cant source them.

cannon racecraft make custom springs if you cant source them.

Thanks. I'll let the guy at the shop know. He's been looking since yesterday, and hasn't found anything. :thumbsup:

I talked to our shop and they said they have ordered springs from this company before, and they are VERY expensive.

Anyone else have any ideas? I can't believe there is NO shock or spring out there that will fit this bike that is not so stiff.

if you can get spring dimensions we could look up a alternative, but its a lot of work as you will have to dissasemble the suspension , we need length, inner and outer diameter and present stiffness.Or any proper suspension tuner could remove the springs, measure them and see if a alternative exists.