YZ250 frames that interchange

I recently bought a 01 yz250 that needs the motor rebuilt and after I brought it home I tried to put the motor in the frame and the bottom rails seen really twisted and out of whack!:thumbsup: I would rather just buy a used frame instead of fixing this one. Does anyone know which years would interchange with the 01 yz250 frame?

Thanks! Im new to the yamaha world. :thumbsup: Ive only owned hondas. Still got the 00 cr250 just want to try something different. I just wasnt sure if they changed any of the mounting points on 96-01 yz250 frames.

I think just 99-01 will be a direct bolt on, 06-08 had a different engine.

I sure someone else will chime in but I have heard the swingarm bolt is different from 02 up.

Ben

The 02 frame is entirely different, so the new swingarm bolt size will not matter, unless op decides to change his entire chassis to 02.

The 02 frame is entirely different, so the new swingarm bolt size will not matter, unless op decides to change his entire chassis to 02.

02-04 frame has a larger diameter swingarm pivot bolt but the collars on the 01 cases can be machined to a larger size for the 02-04 frame. However the only chasis parts that would convert over from the 01 would be the triple clamps, forks, shock, and wheels.

Curious jeffro667 whats the difference between the 96-98 frame versus the 99-01. I know 99 was a new engine but were the mounts different or somthing?

I think the shape of the lower cradle is a little different. I guess it's possible that the mounts are in the same location, but I doubt it.

I would guess the 01 style frame would handle better than the older one.

I thoguht the 96-01 frames used the same mounts... only differece was the angle of the cylinder. Subframes were improved though, so keep yours.