Sign in to follow this  

DR-Z 400 SM Road-Riding Style tips please

I’m a DR-Z 400 SM newbie with another stupid question!

I come from the world of sports touring machinery and haven’t ridden anything quite as light and nimble as a DR-Z since I took my test. The DR-Z has been a breath of fresh air and has re-ignited my love of motorcycles following the reluctant sale of my VTR-1000 due to neck problems.

On the VTR I was used to getting my weight forward over the tank during acceleration; putting weight on the inside handlebar to get the bike into turns; and shifting my body to the inside into and through the corners.

This much is probably quite obvious and standard fare for this type of bike, however, on the DR-Z I’m still trying to find a happy medium in terms of my riding style as there’s so much more room for manoeuvre on the machine.

I’m still finding myself trying to lean off the bike and push forward during acceleration, although I have been adopting a more upright style as the miles have gone by and have experimented with pushing the bike ‘down’ into slower corners whilst I remain more upright. High speed cornering still has me a little perplexed as I’m keen to get down and forward a little bit but don’t want to overwhelm the bike with big steering inputs as I’ve noticed it is very sensitive to movements at higher speeds.

So, strictly in terms of road riding have you guys got some usable real-world tips please?

TIA and sorry if I’ve missed some obvious sticky article or FAQ.

i own both dude sports bike and a drz sm you can thow the drz around much easier faster in corners and out of them :thumbsup: always on the back wheel and stoppies just ride it like you would your sports bike rag it hard mine begs to be thrashed just i get 40 miles to the tank its only a toy tho lol enjoy dude