Why cant I wheelie?

Alright first off i know I'm a pathetic beginner but I'd rather ask here first than try it outside and potentially destroy my bike.

Anyway I've been trying to wheelie in parking lots and such just to learn how. My SM is completely stock and from I've heard and seen it should be easy to get the front tire up. The only way I can get it up is by dumping the clutch in first gear and that's only a few inches off the ground before I lose it.

Literally all I'm doing is dumping the clutch I'm not pulling back at all or bouncing - should I have to do these? I know on bicycles i have to but I figured a motorcycle should do all the work for me.

I figured it's not a bad idea to get this down before I install my new carb and pipe that way the extra power doesn't make me accidentally loop it.

Thanks for the help with a dumb question

How big of a bike is it? The bigger the CC's the easier it will be. You should practice power wheelies first since the front end wont come up as fast. Then once you get good at that work on slipping the clutch. Some bikes do need a lil help with it. Just gotta time it wjen you need to pull back on the bars. It just takes practice.

Lots of practice just start in 1st using the clutch , its also a head thing your head is telling you no no no switch off ! you want your front wheel level with your helmet ! . Its taken me a good while now but up in 2nd run that out then 3rd run it out again then 4th just need to slow down now and hold the balance. Above all cover the rear brake and wear the propper kit. The bike bends back gravel and tarmac rash is very very painfull ! good luck

Don't be afraid to CRACK open that throttle. Keep foot over rear brake/be ready to pull clutch in if you are going up too fast.

You said you are new to riding. So. Maybe work on riding well, before you start trying to pull wheelies.

Practice going uphill. Heaps easier.