Sign in to follow this  

Newbie here--contemplating a 250x

Should I be afraid to buy one of these bikes? I have always been a Honda man but reading on this forum scares me a bit. I have a chance to buy a clean 2005 250X that still has 50% original rear tire use left( I'm guessing under 30 hrs. on bike ) for 1700.00 . I believe this is a good deal but if I have to be replacing valves/crank/etc. all the time than I'm thinking maybe this bike is not a good choice.This bike will be trail ridin only and not abused or over revved.

Thanks

Jim.

I think that's a good deal, I havn't had any problems with mine yet, but as you see some have issues with the top ends wearing out. I ride trails and usually a slow rider.

You don't need to do it all the time its just part of a modern 4 stroke I have an 05 crf250x and all it has is s crf250r cam/exhaust and kibble white valves and mines has a lot of hours

Sounds like a great price to me even if you had to do some work to it. I was like many folks here, basically not having any trouble with my 04. I read and read and read on here wondering if I would see the same problems. And lo and behold.... suddenly it was getting hard to start when cold and was blowing blue until warm...valve seals and gaps closing. Topend rebuild at he shop is $1000 or less. Mine is going to cost around $850 I believe. If the bike hasnt had a rebuild, I'd work the price assuming you need one. But I think at $1700, you are already there, unless this thing is a beater.