Protective gear for trials riding?

Dumb question, but I'm a newbie to trials.

When I ride trails on my YZ250, I wear boots, knee pads (or braces), chest protector, elbow pads and helmet. On an MX track, I'll always wear knee braces, neck brace (Leatt) and padded shorts too.

But that sounds excessive for trials, and might get in the way of flexibility.

So, besides the usual boots/helmet, what do you guys wear and/or recommend for trials?

Thx!

You should ride in what you feel comfortable in. Until the 1970s, nobody wore a helmet even in world round competition trials. It's the last offroad motorcycle sport in which most people seem to still wear an open face helmet, though there is a growing number of full face helmet wearers appearing. I see guys wearing everything from jeans, work boots, no gloves and a tee shirt, to the latest sleek trials specific outfit, to full motocross gear at local events. I personally like an openface helmet, trials boots, MX pants (with knee guards in), long sleeve jersey and gloves. I think a majority of riders dress in these items in my area.

Edited by dirt duchess

lateride9-1.jpg

bigsmokycreek.jpg

P1130594.jpg

I ride a lot of trails fast on my trials bike though....

Can you see me? This is my driveway up to my summer home.

P1130570.jpg

I wear the normal trials stuff (open helmet, trials boots....) at other than really rocky or over the top events. At that point I have a set of Fox elbow guards (pretty OK) and a Fox Proframe chest protector (the best I've ever had hands down) that I wear. That said, if someone made a trials specific closed faced helmet similar to the downhill bicycle stuff, I'd gladly wear that. :thumbsup: