Low end power

I am a total newbee to this forum but not dirt bikes (coming from a Honda XR650, Maico 250, and Yamaha 125).

I just got the green machine new 08 KLX450.

I put a new battery and battery tender harness on it because the brand new battery was dead and would not take charge right there in the shop showroom. I may even disconnect the headlight or put a switch on it so the charger will work better.

I have JD jetting kit, sprockets, oil, and filters, fork springs, and shock spring on order. I could not force myself to pull the trigger on exhaust. I am after XR650 type low end power if possible (and could care less about high rpm power) if anyone can give me a hint on exhaust or mods I would appeciate it.

Also, I need to block off the AIS but can't find anything in the TT store. Anyone know of a link?

Hi and welcome. Go to appliedrace.com for the AIS blockoff.

I did the AIS block off with bits and pieces I already had layin' around. Cost me nothing.

This...earlier thread... I posted may also interest you. I have a 12T front sprocket, JD Jetting kit, and an FMF header and can. Low end is mighty fine.

:thumbsup:

Thanks for the links Dirk and DRZ.

I just put in my order to applied racing! They have a lot of cool bike gadgets in their web store.

DRZ, In that link to your earlier thread I saw ref to an o-ring mod so I will have to do some searching on what that is all about. Nice looking exhaust!

Open up your airbox by doing the "airbox mod" and put on an aftermarket exhaust can. I have the FMF Q4 which will give you more more power/flow but still maintain on the quiet side:thumbsup:

DRZ400.. I have a buddy who just bought a 08 KLX450R and is looking for a bit lower gearing. We see stock front sprocket is 13T. Looking at Rocky Mountain ATV and all the sprockets, I dont see that a 12 is available. Where did you find the 12? Any issues with wearing the guide on the swingarm excessively?