Is it time for a new top-end?

Hey guys,

I have an 04 cr125 that I've had for about 8 months. I bought it from the original owner who claimed that he only put around 20 hours on it, the bike was all original when I bought it. I've prolly put around 60-80hrs on it since I bought it. The bikes still all original and stock except for some power reeds that have around 10 hours on them.

Anyway, yesterday I went go out for a ride, first one in a couple weeks and it didn't want to start. Finally it kicked over. When I was riding it, it felt pretty sluggish, it lacked top-end and didn't feel crisp. Whenever I would shut it off, it would take a few kicks to start, when ussally it would go in one or two. I only ended up riding for about 15 mins because the bike just didn't feel right.

Is it time for a new-top end? I've never done one before and this is my first 2-stroke so I really don't know what to look for to know if it's time to replace it.

Thanks for any Help

get a compression tester and run a compression test.

If the compression is below 120 PSI you are going to need a top end

A 125 runs best with a new top end every 10 hrs. 20 hrs max. You are way beyond normal 125 top end maintenance time. It is easy. Do it yourself. Just keep everything clean and you'll be good.

A 125 runs best with a new top end every 10 hrs. 20 hrs max. You are way beyond normal 125 top end maintenance time. It is easy. Do it yourself. Just keep everything clean and you'll be good.

yea..if you race/ride the piss out of it...

do a comp test and see your compretion.

also, was the gas in the tank fresh or was it left in there for the few months you didnt ride it?

My CR250 was riding fine after 40 hours (I run an hour meter) and I still changed the top end. At the cost of a wiseco pro lite kit, you really want to chance what can go wrong without changing it?

Plus it's a 2 hour job.