Sign in to follow this  

08 RMZ450 Cylr head Cam Journal wear, Help!!!

I'm new on here so i'll tell you a little about myself and my bike. I am a licenced Truck and Coach Technician of 13 years, I work for Metro Freightliner in Ontario Canada. I have been riding bikes since I was 11 yrs old and learned to work on bikes and cars when I was 13, owned a 87 KX80 since 91-96, bought a 01 RM125 new and sold it in 08(needed the cash). I bought my 08 RMZ450 in Oct of 2010 from the original owner. He said the bottom end cases had been updated by Suzuki in Japan before he bought it. When I bought it, the topend had just been replaced due to cylinder head damage to both cam shaft journals, the previous owner replaced the Piston, valves, cams, head, cylinder, gaskets, rings... Everything from the tranny up, he purchased it from a eBay seller in Markham who had it as a back-up engine for his race bike. He said it was brand new parts, assembled then run for an hour to break it in, and then crated. It didn't even look like it had been run, when he received it, it looked and still looks brand new even to this day on the bike. when I bought the bike from him he said he hadn't even broke in the new stuff yet and it had fresh motul oil and filter in it. I believe him and his info, we have become friends since I bought the bike and don't feel as though he is withholding any info from me. I use Amsoil and first after breaking in the top end after 2 hrs of 1/2 to 3/4 throttle, then changed the oil again after 6 hrs and it's now due for an oil change again, that's why i pulled the top end to check the valve train cause the note of the engine changed the last time I was out on it. As much as I would love to ride it all day all weekend long in reality I'm lucky if I can get 3 hrs of riding in on it at one time, and I only rode it 4 times before winter and only 3 times this spring, so i would say conservatively it only has approximately 15 hrs on it since I bought it.