2007 250xcw - Can't get lights working

Here's my electrical issue:

I picked up a headlight and tailight for a 07 250xcw. Since neither light worked once connected, I checked the front and rear harnesses for 12+ volts. Nothing there. Then checked across the voltage regulator. Still nothing. Then checked the yellow wire that comes up from the stator/lighting coil to a ground. Still nothing.

I'm no electrical expert but at this point was guessing the issue was with the lighting coil. Fortunately, I have twin 07 xcw's so swapped the stator/lighting coil and fired up the bike again. Still no lights and no voltage at the yellow wire using the other stator/coil.

I suppose both lighting coils could be bad but am wondering if I'm even diagnosing this correctly? Am at loss and am hoping I'm overlooking something obvious.

Any thoughts?

Are you checking for DC voltage or AC voltage. The stators put out AC voltage. So if your checking for DC you will see nothing, flip your your multimeter over to AC and see what you have.

What lighting kit did you get and did it come with a wiring diagram?

I believe you need to have a voltage regulator / rectifier and a battery to make the lights work, but not sure, this is where the wiring diagram comes into play, it should tell you all you need to know about hooking up the lights.

If you can post up the wiring diagram I'd be happy to look it over, I'm not an electrician but I have been shocked :smirk: enough times to have a good understanding of electricity and power circuits

O40R

Oh my...AC/DC? I was on the DC setting! It's a little late to fire up the bike on a Sunday night but will switch to the AC setting and recheck things tomorrow evening.

What lighting kit did you get and did it come with a wiring diagram?