2003 YZF250 parts question

Hello, I didn't see a "new members" section so I'll give a quick introduction. My name is Clay and I started riding minibikes around 10 years old. This progressed through a XL100, XR200, CR125, XR250, CR250 and finally to a 87 XR600 I recently purchased. Recent hobbies are building and testing dragracing / street cars - most recent is a twin turbo setup on my Nova. Anyway enough of that. I have already searched and found a lot of information but have a few quick questions. I recently purchased an 03 YZF250 that has an Athena 290 kit - also Yoshimura exhaust. Now being 40 I really need this like a hole in the head but for $400 I couldn't turn it down - figured I could piece it out and double my money worst case. Previous owner said it locked up. When he took the head / cylinder off it wasn't locked up anymore. Piston, cylinder, cams, valves, cam chain all look great. Then it sat for several years. Now knowing he most likely rode the crap out of it, I'll replace the crank for sure. Now are you guys using a factory Yamaha crank, rebuilding the factory crank or using an aftermarket crank? What's most preferable from durability and cost? I'm also thinking maybe a transmission problem so I'm going to split the cases to be sure. Anybody had any shifting fork problems other than the fork wear from trying to go to "6th" gear that isn't there. Any other potential causes to look at when I tear it down. Got a few things to finish up and it'll take me about a month to get to it - just doing some research first. Sorry for the long post - I tend to ramble. Thanks in advance for the help. Clay