03 Rm250 woods project first race impressions

So Sunday I finally got to test my 03 RM250 I rebuilt for woods racing at it's first race. I've had quite a few practise rides on it, and felt fast, but this was the true test.

My background is, used to race 2 strokes for years, many years ago. Been stuck in the 450 4 stroke thing for the last bunch of years racing. Decided it was time to give the 2 stroke a go again. Race in the Senior Expert class.

Well she rips, in every department :smirk:

Motor has so much torque on the bottom. This race was littered with huge hills. I could ride a gear high everywere, keeping it off the pipe when the traction wasn't there, and then letting her open right up as soon as traction allowed. I missed a shift at the start and was at the back of the pack going up the first big hill, and big hills in BC mean 5 min of on the gas climbing. I was able to find better traction than the 450's using the bottom end torque, and then had instant acceleration when putting it on the pipe. Not to mention being able to pick lines were the 450's just weren't agile enough to go. By the top of the first hill I was up to mid pack :smirk:

Handling is were this thing really shines. I could put the bike anywere I wanted at any time. I never felt like the bike was taking me for a ride. It was amazing the tight little lines on the side were I could put the bike. This is definately the nimblest bike I've ever owned.

So results. First race of the year is usually a throw away for me, I'm too out of shape, can never finnish. Well yesterdays race ending up being 3hrs, not the usual 2.5 because of a course marking screw up. Finnished, a respectable 6th in my stacked class.

Only downsides seem to be my SDG seat is a little hard and I've got some crazy ass monkey butt, and pillow top grips aren't so pillowy, got some big old blisters on my hand.