What size nut is on the clutch basket?

I have my outer clutch plate off my 1998 CR125. I have taken the fiber plates and disks off aswell. Now I have the problem of the very thin nut over the lock washer.

What size is this? The highest socket I have is a 22MM, and I do not want to spend 50 dollars on a craftsman set at the moment.

Sorry, don't know the size, but maybe check at Harbor Freight for sets of tools?

My CR500's and my CRF450X and the 250 I owned have 27mm nuts on em so it might be the same on the 125. Take a micrometer, tape measure, ruler or whatever and see what it is. The measurement will be from one flat side to the one directly across from it.

I never even thought about a tape measure, though it would not be as accurate at that angle. I just verified that it is 27mm, it appeared to be anyway.

Any tips for the lock washer that is on there? I do not want to ruin it.

can buy single craftsman sockets from sears or ace hardware. probly $10

I am a former F-16 mechanic so I am super anal about replacing "wear parts" after every removal. They are only like $3-$4 and to me it is cheap insurance to replace. If a tab gets bent a couple times and breaks from vibration and works it's way into the bottom end you are looking at way more then $4! On my 500's I replace them with a CRF450R lockwasher and they fit better than any 500 one that I have tried.

i believe that nut also crosses over almost exactly to american size also. cant remeber the size but i think its the same as rear axle nut. could be wrong so double check for your self. been a while since i messed with a clutch.

I know 7/8 is 22mm :smirk:

I think the SAE is a closer fit though.

SO you recommend I buy a new lock washer. Thank you. I did not even think of that as an option :smirk:

I know 7/8 is 22mm :smirk:

I think the SAE is a closer fit though.

SO you recommend I buy a new lock washer. Thank you. I did not even think of that as an option :smirk: