Need help figuring out what is wrong with my bike

Hi I am from Hoover, Alabama. I have a 06 crf 450x that is giving me trouble starting. I have read a lot of the technical information on this board but I am afraid to get out a wrench and check my valves or compression to see if that is what the problem is because usually I end up making matters worse than they were before I started. I can do general maintenance like I installed a jd jetting kit, fuel screw, slip on exhaust, skid plate, and removed the carb and cleaned it. But when it comes to the engine I am scarred to touch it. Is there anyone in my area that could show me how to check vales and shim them if needed or/and check the piston to see if it needs to be replaced. I can't pay you much for your time but I could do some computer work for you as that is what I do for a living. I really need someone who is willing to spend a weekend showing me how to do this stuff. I don't have the money to take it to a shop right now and I probably won't for some time. Any help would be appreciated and I will come to you.

Thanks

BamaFan