07 DRZ400sm FCR MX - Fuel screw all the way in still idles fine? Studder at 1/8?

Hey guys,

Just looking for some information. I purchased this bike with the mods already on it. FCR, Yosh pipe, K&N Filter. The basic problem I am trying to solve is a stumble at about 1/8 throttle. I have tried the fuel screw out 2.5 turns and in this position the bike runs decent (barely noticeable stumble) when the outside temps are around 8-12 degree celcius. When warmer (17-25 degrees C) at the 2.5 turns out setting the bike seems to be running quite rich, stumble and not pulling hard.

Turn the fuel screw in about 1 turn and it gets better (1.5 turns out, but similar the "miss" or "studder" is always present when at a constant throttle position for a period of time.)

I also tried turning the screw completely in yesterday and the bike idled good the whole way in. Turning the screw out the bike only stalled around 3 turns or so.

I am a newbie to the carb tuning scene as my previous rides have been fairly stock.

Thanks in advance.

Pilot is for idle only. (99% anyhow) If you have dropped the idle speed from normal until it just runs and you can turn the fuel screw in without the motor stalling, then you need a smaller pilot. Check the condition of the screw ('O' ring intact), search for proper procedure for setting the idle circuit (try a post from William1) and go from there.

As always, DG is right on the money. Pilot/fuel screw is for idle only, set it and leave it alone. From just off of idle to just under about 1/4 throttle is the straight diameter of the needle. What needle is in the carb and what clip position are you are?

Fuel Screw/Pilot Jet

Fuel screw settings in the 'book' are recommended starting points. Every bike is different, as is the temp and altitude. Set the screw according to this method. Do it with the bike fully heated up.