TPS Diagnostics

This question pertains to a 250X so pardon me if the specs are different, but I've seen threads in this forum that makes me think things are similar, if not the same.

My manual gives me a a standard of 4 - 6 kohm and a formula to check TPS at idle. Is 4 -6 kohm = 4000 - 6000? And what is supposed to be 4000-6000? Is A in the formula supposed to be 4000-6000?

The formula:

A (resistance between blue and black terminals (the outer ones on the plug). I get about 3000.

B = TPS resistance at idle = A X (.13 - .15). So...if A is 3000, the range is 390 - 450.

My manual says to adjust the resistance between the yellow and black (middle and black) to the calculated resistance. So adjust to what??? 390-450?

I'm no electrician and the manual wasn't written for someone like me.

I posted here because more action in this forum than 250 and trying to get bike right before Memorial Day weekend.

Thanks for any help.

Dave

Blue and black resistance should be between 4k and 6K: check? or fail?

If 5k then

5000*.13=650

5000*.15=750

The manual is telling you to check the overall resistance of the TPS resistor between the blue and the black. Should the measurement be in spec (4-6K resistance 5k ideally being what they're looking for) you want 650-750 ohms at idle.

If you find the over all between blue and black to be different but still in spec they give you a formula to correct the adjustment so you can get the TPS set properly to the spec the ignition is looking for at idle.

So, your assumption is correct. BUT>>>>

The issue is this; The 3k your measuring isn't high enough. Your TPS is dirty or something because your not getting enough resistance across the blue and black.

That is going to end up causing an idle lead timing issue. In other words, the lead time for the ignition will be incorrect because the TPS will be sending the wrong info to the ECU.