04 450 Valve Issues (Experts please)

Hey all,

I have been searching the forums for an answer to my questions about the 04 valve problems, and while i have found allot, most just seem to touch on the issue.

I'm an experienced mechanic (aviation stuff) so tools do not scare me (even machines shops) but never have been in a valve train of a motorcycle motor so thats why im comming here first.

Basically I might have a chance to pretty much steal an 04 TC 450 converted for street, extremely clean bike, that is having what seems to me is having the valve problems that are so prominent with this model and year from what I can gather from my searching old posts. The owner doesn't want to put time into fixing it.

Since I will be fixing this myself and not using a shop, my question is what exactly goes into the remedy for these defective valves? Is it as easy as just swapping to 05 valves, and resetting valve clearances? Or does the head need to go to a machine shop for work ? (new seats or something). Are there any how too's that i havent found on the net that will walk me through this?

Thanks guys

Nate

The 04 had smaller stems and the 05 and up will not drop in. Dell West is by FAR the best supplier to after market but $$$. Halls might still sell the SS ones and they should be good if you do the seats. Basically the 04 had to small stems, hard bronze seats (which beat the crap out of the valves) and the supplier was not good (quality). So... you can drop some $$$ and get new valve guides and stuff and go with bigger stemmed valves (expensive / lots of machine work), go with Dell West drop in replacements (good and less expensive), or Halls SS vales and a seat grind (least expensive but might not last as long as the other solutions)

IMHO.

Thanks for the quick reply.