Sign in to follow this  

04 250SX Clutch question

Ok so I picked up this 04 250sx super clean and great deal, I am a 40 yr old in the middle of a mid life crisis, I have not ridden for 10 yrs my last ride was a YZF 426.i bought my kid a KX85 so we can ride together! I am totally new to these hydralic clutches. I just bought the bike and wanted to go thru it, compression was 182 cold, transmisson oil was low, changed it (650 cc I do not have a manual so if this is wrong pls let me know)

checked hydralic clutch fluid, master cylinder was empty, ordered some Magura blood and re-filled, seems to be ok however when I pull the clutch ( bike on stand off) I can almost hear what I think is a squish almost like fluid coming out/ air I searched pretty good and could not find any evidence of fluid escaping, so i assume it must be sucking air, not having a hydralic clutch before I can not tell by feel if it is working properly or not, can someone pls explain what I should be looking for, also where could the fluid be going? I assume the previous owner did not check the fluid but where can it go? Should the master cylinder be full? Like I said no manual! By the way where can I purchase a KTM manual for an 04 250sx?

I would appreciate any help I can get! Thanks

If it was empty the master cylinder might need a rebuild. Check for leakage. When fluids are not changed the coating in the mastercylinder wears out and the mastercylinder needs to be replaced. It can not be honed.