Sign in to follow this  

drz 125 leaking gas on kick stand only.

so the story goes. . . yesterday i saw it was leaking on kick stand and even standing straight up. not super fast, but enough to raise question. so i opened up the carb today for the first time. (only have had the bike for 3 months or so and has always ran fine so never had to before) any how the carb was clean except there was a little piece of rubber in the main jet from a washer that looked thrashed. i went to cycle barn and got a new washer. cleaned the carb even thought it didn't need it really. and now it leaks on kick stand only. the bike still runs fine but it still leaks. so i took the carb off again and everything is clean! and then it was still leaking!!!

dose anyone know what this could be? i'm not a expert at carbs but i know enough to think there should be a plug or something to make it leak but its clean?

thanks.

where is the leak coming from? around the bowl or out of the vent line? if its the vent it the flow level is set to high or the needle and seat isnt sealing. if its coming from around the bowl it needs a new gasket.

sorry i forgot to mention that. its leaking out of the vent at the bottom of the carb. how do i drop the flow level?

Check your needle and seat first. If you have changed nothing and this just started happening, that's more likely the problem. It is located by the pivoting pin on the float. Take the pin out, remove the needle and blow compressed air or carb clean in the hole. I have not seen the stock needle so maybe another member can answer wether its viton (rubber) tipped or not. The needle is what plugs the hole and stops fuel from overfilling the carb. If it is letting fuel leak by, then the carb has a vent to release the fuel. Having a float that is to high will also let the carb overfuel. (Probably to much info) but if you understand what your carb is doing, it will help you troubleshoot