Sign in to follow this  

Drz 400 sm fork seals

Hi guys, its me again with a question. After having a local dealer not being able to do my fork seals I have decided to do them myself.

The question is how many litres of oil do I need for my USD forks and is there anything Ive got to look out for as this is my first attempt to don fork seals?

Also me being a bit of a fattie at 103 kilos, would a thicker oil be better that the reccomended standard oil?

Ive tried searching threads but cant find an answer.

Many thanks

Adrian

I can't believe the dealer can't do them. Anyway youre going to need a seal driver , and if you change oil weight it will make the forks harsher but it won't improve bottoming resistance.

be glad the dealer cant do it. i had mine done 2 times under warranty and all they did was slip wrenches on the alL the nuts, incuding the big valve nut at the top ot the fork and jepordized the chrome finish on the lower tube. I wilL do mine myself after i come up with $400 for the lower tube. SOME STEALERS SUCK!

I can't believe the dealer can't do them. Anyway youre going to need a seal driver , and if you change oil weight it will make the forks harsher but it won't improve bottoming resistance.

The dealer, even after three days of having my bike in his shop, asked me if I could find him a 50mm socket!!!!!!!!

Not suprising really. The vast majority of bikes around here in Gibraltar are all mopeds and any one with a proper bike will take it across the border to Spain.

Even more gutted because where I keep my bike garaged in Spain just across the road I have a bike shop where I know the guys quite well but I thought of keeping it local in Gibraltar, you know to boost local economy and all that, and what do I get in return????

I recon I could easily make a seal driver using a PVC pipe, what I dont have is a seal bullet or that tool for measuring the oil, thats why I want to know how much oil I need.