Tire pressures?

I'm a newbie. The tire lists a load rating at a pressure, max 30 psi. Honda label recommends 22psi. I know on car tires you can drop pressure to increase traction, but it increases wear. Could you run the motorcycle tires at a higher pressure - up to 30 psi - and sacrifice some traction for wear? Isn't all that flexure at the lower pressure creating more wear and weakness in the tire carcass?

You could and should run higher PSI for highway miles to get better MPG. When I go off road I drop my PSI below 18. I eyeball it and I can actually feel if it's still too high out on the trails.

Regarding low pressures effecting the tire carcass, I think the sidewalls of dualsport tires are flexy by nature and running low pressures won't adversely effect them.

Generally the tread will wear down before there's any real concern about sidewall degradation, unless there's been tons of high-speed miles at low pressures. Higher tire pressures will sacrifice traction for efficiency, and traction is *absolutely critical* in an avoidance maneuver. Is your life worth a few extra mpg? Maybe add a pound or two if you are a heavy rider, otherwise stick with the bike manufacturer's recommendation.

Tire pressure can be adjusted to fit the way you ride, and what terrain you are on.

Different tires have different sidewall strengthes which greatly affect the pressure you want to run.

I generally run around 10-14psi for off-road, 15-18 on-road. I know lots of people who run 7psi off-road and even some who go down to 4psi off-road (lighter bikes).

We ONLY run HD or ultra HD tubes. Our terrain is technical and rough. Tire pressure greatly affects the traction we get from this terrain. I prefer the feel of 8-12 for offroad and find lower pressures squirm too much.

For my dirt bike I run 10-13 in the front and around 5-7 on my trials tire on the rear.

Play around with it, but be careful around the extremes. Pressure affections traction and heat.