Sign in to follow this  

New Hub and Basket?

took the clutch apart and found the nut holding hub in was lose. i just spun it off with fingers. took some pictures because these things dont look like i think they should. this is my first time tearing into a clutch and have herd of unwanted grooves. i took a few pictures. let me know what you think, im really hoping i dont need to spend $500 rebuilding this clutch

2000 yz250 smoker. pretty much stock for all i know.

Thanks for any advice.

IMG_1485.jpg

IMG_1484.jpg

IMG_1483.jpg

IMG_1482.jpg

it worked fine until the clutch had no back friction when i compressed the lever. so i took it apart and this is what i found. along with the nut completely loose.

Wow that's a worn out basket even the gear thing on the back has a grove in it, did the clutch even disengage? Either way that thing is toast.

The inner hub, you prob could file those groves out but you might just get a new inner and outer hub at the same time.

I rode and did a few hare scrambles with a similar looking inner for a year and didn't have any issues.

If you get both billet parts it'll prob run ~$500. You could probably score something for far less on ebay, you'll just have to research what years are interchangeable.

Basket is whatever scrap price they'll give you, hub is on the way out. If you want, you can carefully file them flat, but then you create extra play, so the plates really bang against it and kill it off again, only a lot faster this time. But it might last you a month or two. The problem with that method is the "running start" may also end up with one of the tabs busting off, and breaking something far more expensive than the clutch basket, which will need to be replaced anyway. I doubt I'd risk it.