Big newcomer

Alright experts, chime in! I have recently made the decision to change from quads to bikes due to the high cost of a performance quad vs. same performing bike. I have been riding quads for 20+ years. Started on a Blaster, then rode an LT500R for years. Next came a modded KFX700 and finally a completely loaded TRX450r. I currently have a 2003 KTM 450exc and I am not thrilled. It has plenty of power but it's a kind of lazy power I am not really used to. I am looking to trade it, so here's the question...For What?!

Why is that a delima you ask. Because I am a novice bike rider that happens to be 6'4" 280lbs. I don't know what will pull my big butt around, up and over hills, through mud, and generaaly make me a good trail ride without killing me or requiring I buy a new bke in 4 months.

So do go 125 2-stroke? 250f? 250 2-stroke? 450f?

I would really like to do a 250f (I think) as it seems like it might be a fairly decent match to the 450r in power delivery. (I know the 450r puts out more power but weighs nearly twice as much). I'd really like to be able to keep up with my buddy, who rides a 700xx, on the trail once my skills are better.

Please let me know your thoughts. I would be especially interested in those who ride both or who have switched one way or the other.

250 or 300 2 stroke all the way! I ride a Yz 250 bored out to 285 and the power is just awesome! A ktm 300 would do the job too! Best part about a 2 stroke is easy and cheap maintenance!

^^^^ I agree with the above post. Can't wait to get my kx250 sent to Eric gorr for a 300 big bore!!!! Oh ya. . . You will be able to keep up with your buddies very easy with a 250 or 300 2 stroke. I can destroy my buddies 500s, 525s, and 700 quads. Haha not trying to brag but it is just the truth. Good luck and be safe out there!

Appreciate the replies so far. Follow up question...Will a 250-2T be "too much" bike to develop my sklills on?

you're bored on a 450 exc??? you ain't ridin' it right....