Sign in to follow this  

Tires for a beginning rider

So I am just getting into riding and have an xt350 as my starter bike. I am looking at getting new DOT tires for it and was wonder what you guys would recommend for mostly wet dirt/gravel with pavement riding between. (I say wet due to the fact I live on the west side of Washington state) I feel the more experianced riders can get away with probably a more street suitable tire offroad just becasue they can handel the bike better as it slips and slides (but maybe its the complete oppisite) . Thank you in advance for your suggestions and thoughts.

1st questions to help you with info:

Post up your current tires. What % on/off road? Do you like them?

From your post as it stands imo:

bias offroad MT21 front and rear. D606rear, MT21 front.

bias onroad, Kenda270.

Rear is an off brand from china Tire King pretty knobby. Says dot on the side. The front is a knobby motocross only. I plan on a 50/50 mix. The 50 off road will logging roads and dirt trails. I think I am leaning towards a 606.

I plan on a 50/50 mix. The 50 off road will logging roads and dirt trails. I think I am leaning towards a 606.

Good choice! a 50/50 tire is 50% no good when you need the traction in the dirt, just ask my Dr.:smirk:

I'll probably get pummeled for this, but I'm not a fan of the D606. The Kenda 760 rear tire gives much better grip on the slick Ohio clay, but won't last as long on the pavement. But it's considerably cheaper (and easier to mount) than the D606 which makes it a no-brainer for me.

I ride washington too. D606 SUCKS. namely the front. The rear D606 is a great tire, just pricey. MT21 is EH.. not very good.. overpriced

IF you dont mind shelling dough.. Pirelli MT16 rear and MX Mid Hard 454 front 90/100

or if you're cheap - ARTRAX TG4 rear SE3 front from motosport.com

D606 rear and MX51 front is good for the hardcore Dunslop fans. I run this on my XR250, as a trial. They work well, but too pricey