Dual sport for small female?

Man this is a fun sport! Now my wife wants to ride on her own. What would you guys recommend for a very light framed woman? (103 lbs, 5'5"). I am assuming anything we make street legal wouldN't run highway speeds very well? I Was thinking something in the 80 - 100 size range, but since I too have just gotten into bikes I really don't know very much about what's out there. Any suggestions. We ride 50/50 onroad/off road.

No 100 is going to run (or be legal on) highways. A 250(4stroke) is going to struggle on hills or in higher winds.

I would look at 200cc 2 strokes probably, lighter on more power.

But then taller too, so would have to be lowered.

A Kaw KDX200 kind of bike.

4 stroke: plated XR200 size wise, but not going to do highway travel.

But do you REALLY want a novice woman that you love riding highways on a dual sport?

It makes ME nervous and i've been riding for 40 years.

Rethink...................

Yamaha TW 200

Stick to secondary highways, more scenic that way anyway :smirk:

At her weight,the bike should be quite adequate. If she truly enjoys it. Upgrade next year :smirk:

same situation here.. going to look for a CRF150F e start and plate it next year.

TW200 is too heavy, XR250 is kick-only.. I want to keep the fun factor for her

I did a KLX140L with a Baja Designs kit for my daughter. Stick to the back roads and you will be fine.

honda crf 230l, 50 state legal , small and light also

Man this is a fun sport! Now my wife wants to ride on her own. What would you guys recommend for a very light framed woman? (103 lbs, 5'5"). I am assuming anything we make street legal wouldN't run highway speeds very well? I Was thinking something in the 80 - 100 size range, but since I too have just gotten into bikes I really don't know very much about what's out there. Any suggestions. We ride 50/50 onroad/off road.

TW200 - Yamaha

XR250L - Honda

CRF230L - Honda

KLX250 - Kawasaki