Sign in to follow this  

Washington Mentor needed

I started riding dirt bikes late in life and taught myself on my own. Results have been disastrous over the last 5 years. Last weekend during my second MX race ever I broke my leg on the last lap trying to make a pass at the finish. The reason why I made this decision is beyond me as is why I choose to pursue this hobby at the expense of finances, health, and family.

I spent half of the last decade which should have been some of the best years of my life deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan and when I am not there, most of my time is dedicated to preparing to go back. I have no regrets to the life I have chose I am just trying to stuff more in it. Between combat, training, family, and infrequent breaks in the WA weather it seems like every time I get on a bike is the first and I am learning all over again. Not to mention I do not look natural on a bike more in the goon category.

I'd like to find a person, group of people, or club that is mature and can take me under their wing and show me the ropes of MX so that I can pass on to others as well. I don't need a teenager with the advice of "go for it," because I am not lacking at all in the guts department. I need a mature adult to pull me aside and show me how to correct my deficiencies and give me a reality check when I need it. I am too old to keep going with my keep trying until I crash so bad I wreck my bike or my body.

Cheers!

Maybe you should get off the track and try the woods. Not saying trees don't hurt but until your skills are better it would less painful. There are plenty of hare scrambles you could try or even enduros. Lots of clubs and friendly people. MX tracks are very demanding and one mistake could be very painful as you have found out.