Opinions on the best dual purpose bike

So, i was wondering if i could get your guys help on trying to find a dual purpose bike that would suit me. I'm really really new to anything with two wheels and a motor. I normally drive an old 82' Honda ATC but i drove my friends 250 street and trail (i dont know what make), and i fell in love.

And so now I'm looking to get my own. I want something bigger, maybe a 350 or a 400 but other than that i dont know what to look for. If I get a bike id drive it to school and back during the day, and lunch at school too. And maybe to my girlfriends (3-4 hours in all maybe). I'd also like to do a lot of off roading, not tight trails though just wide backroad trails. I try not to but i'm kinda rough on my machines, the trails are bumpy and i like to go as fast as i can. I'm a speed demon. So something fast yet fairly dependable is a must.

Like i said im completely new to this, so i was just hoping i could get input on what bike would suit me. I'd like to make an investment i'll enjoy. Thanks a ton.

There's kinda two worlds of dualsporting for what you're looking for.

There's the street-legal dirt bikes... Great on the trail, OK on the street. WRx50's, KTM RFS's (XC-W, EXC), Suzuki DR-Z's fall into this category. My KTM 525 does great on singletrack... just eats it up. It'll do 80m/h on the highway, but it's not comfortable for extended periods of time. I commute to/from work with this bike. If OHV trails and singletrack are what you want to do, I'd look for something like this.