Sign in to follow this  

250 2t? Starter bike?

Hey, I had another post up earlier, about getting a 125 2t. But being 6'1ish and 215, 17 years old. pounds, the majority of people told me I should get a 250 2t. I have plenty of trail riding experience on atvs. I own a suped up 400ex, as well as drive a manual car so I have plenty of clutch experience. I have a wide open field to learn in, and have plenty of respect for machines. I'm also plenty familiar with the trails around my area. Anways, I have a few questions. I dont want a four stroke, coming from working on the 400ex, I am looking forward to the simple 2 stroke motor :smirk:

1. People were saying flywheel weights would help alot. What exactly do flywheel weights do, all the times I've seen them mentioned, no one has said what they exactly do.. Also, I dont have alot of money to dump into the bike. I will be trading the ex for a bike, so about how much do flywheel weights run?

2. If I dont snap the throttle and keep the bike in the lower rpm, will it have any defects on the bike, I know 2 strokes are supposed to be rode at a high rpm for the power, and will I foul plugs like crazy if I keep the bike in a lower rpm?

3. Any info appreciated :smirk:

1. the fly wheel weight slows down the rotation of the motor at the crank. Often times they are used to move the power a little lower in the RPM range and smooth out the "hit", they also help prevent stalling on tight single track or areas where you need to lug the bike. Could be one of the best mods on a 250 smoker for woods riding.