Sign in to follow this  

ATF or oil in the transmission

Ok I run automotive oil in the bottom end of my dirt bikes, the kind they say will make your clutch slip. I have been using synthetic oil since 1995 and never burned up a clutch or had any problem with a bike i bought new and i ran 1 bike for 5 years on the stock clutch and it still looked new, also ran a Rekluse for a year and it allowed it to slip alot and the plates were still in oem specs. So why do many people say that automotive oil will make your clutch slip and recommends to run ATF?

i used to run 10w-40 as per my manuel , then tried atf , but i have had the best luck with the pro-honda trans oil in the red bottle (80/85 weight i think)

10w40, and heavier, auto oils don't contain "energy conserving" friction modifiers and are wet clutch safe.

Ok I run automotive oil in the bottom end of my dirt bikes, the kind they say will make your clutch slip. I have been using synthetic oil since 1995 and never burned up a clutch or had any problem with a bike i bought new and i ran 1 bike for 5 years on the stock clutch and it still looked new, also ran a Rekluse for a year and it allowed it to slip alot and the plates were still in oem specs. So why do many people say that automotive oil will make your clutch slip and recommends to run ATF?

Automotive oil DOES NOT make your clutch slip UNLESS that auto oil is marked "energy conserving". Energy Conserving oils have extra anti friction additives that WILL make a motorcycle wet clutch slip.

Auto oil is fine to run in the bottom end unless it is labeled "energy conserving".

Personally, I run Bel Ray gear oil in the gear boxes of my bikes. I have also run plain old oil in the bottom end. I have also run Honda Engine and Gearbox oil in my bottom end.

I have not run ATF. With ATF you should change the gearbox oil on a more frequent basis.

Why not just run what the manufacturers recommend? Plain old oil that is designed for motorcycles?